Regulations TU/e Academic Awards 2023 Nomination procedure

TU/e
EINDHOVEN
UNIVERSITY OF
TECHNOLOGY

24-01-2023 B.C. Donders & D.J. Mulders

Academic Awards

The Executive Board of Eindhoven University of Technology invites the bachelor program directors, graduate program directors and departmental deans to nominate their talents for the TU/e Academic Awards.

Through its high-quality education and research, Eindhoven University of Technology contributes to the advancement of the technical sciences and to the development of technological innovations. With the annual TU/e Academic Awards we celebrate the TU/e talents who produce the best BSc Thesis and the best MSc Thesis. We cordially invite the departments to nominate their talents for these two TU/e Academic Awards. In these regulations we present additional information about the awards.

Nominations and juries' decisions

Until 1 May 2023 nominations for the TU/e BSc Thesis Award can be submitted by the directors of the bachelor programs. Nominations for the TU/e MSc Thesis Award can be submitted by the directors of the graduate programs before that same date. The directors and departmental deans submit the digital version of the Thesis of the selected nominee to the Secretariat Graduate School (secretariaat.graduateschool@tue.nl). The juries' decisions will be under embargo until the awards ceremony on TU/e Momentum 2023 (28/29 September 2023).

Composition of juries

The juries for the awards are composed through appointment by the Executive Board on the recommendation of the Dean Bachelor College (BSc thesis) or the Dean Graduate School (MSc thesis), respectively. Jury members are appointed for a term of two years and can be re-appointed. The jury members choose a chair among themselves. If a jury member acts as a supervisor for one of the nominated theses, for that year a replacement jury member will be appointed.



TU/e BSc Thesis Award 2023 For the best BSc Thesis at TU/e in 2022

What is the TU/e BSc Thesis Award 2023?

The TU/e BSc Thesis Award 2023 consists of a certificate and an amount of € 1,250,- awarded to the best BSc Thesis in one of the TU/e Bachelor's programs, completed in 2022.

Who is eligible to compete?

Anyone who successfully completed a Bachelor's program at TU/e in 2022 and received a Bachelor's degree.

What are the requirements?

The jury will assess the BSc Thesis, using the following criteria:

- originality and/or novelty of the results or research
- theoretically well-founded
- verifiably of adequate scientific quality
- results could be presented at a scientific conference
- independence on the part of the student
- well-written report, preferably in English

The BSc Thesis is open access at the moment of the TU/e Academic Awards ceremony.

Who submits the nominations?

Nominations are submitted by the directors of the bachelor programs. Every director can submit one candidate from the bachelor program, selected from the candidates that have been submitted by the professors who supervise the BSc Theses. The director can institute a selection committee for advice.

In addition to the BSc Thesis the submission should also include a motivation and a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee. The directors will inform the candidates about their nomination.

A digital version of the nominated thesis and attachments has to be submitted to the Secretariat Graduate School (secretariaat.graduateschool@tue.nl).



TU/e MSc Thesis Award 20232 For the best MSc Thesis at TU/e in 2022

What is the TU/e MSc Thesis Award 2023?

The TU/e MSc Thesis Award 2023 consists of a certificate and an amount of € 2,500,- awarded to the best MSc Thesis in one of the TU/e Master's programs, completed in 2022.

Who is eligible to compete?

Anyone who successfully completed a Master's program at TU/e in 2022 and received a Master's degree.

What are the requirements?

The jury will assess the MSc Thesis, using the following criteria:

- sufficient innovative elements
- theoretically well-founded
- verifiably of adequate scientific quality
- results could be published in a scientific journal
- independence on the part of the student
- well-written report, preferably in English

The MSc Thesis is open access at the moment of the TU/e Academic Awards ceremony.

Who submits the nominations?

Nominations are submitted by the directors of the graduate programs. Every director can submit one candidate from the graduate program, selected from the candidates that have been submitted by the professors who supervise the MSc Theses. The director can institute a selection committee to advise him.

In addition to the MSc Thesis the submission should also include a motivation and a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee. The directors will inform the candidates about their nomination.

A digital version of the nominated thesis and attachments has to be submitted to the Secretariat Graduate School (secretariaat.graduateschool@tue.nl).



Overview Bachelor College TU/e for Academic Awards 2023

Bachelor Program

Department

Architecture, Urbanism and Building Sciences Built Environment Applied Physics Applied Physics

Applied Mathematics Mathematics and Computer Science

Automotive Technology Electrical Engineering
Biomedical Engineering Biomedical Engineering

Chemical Engineering & Chemistry

Computer Science and Engineering

Mathematics and Computer Science

Mathematics and Computer Science

Electrical Engineering
Industrial Design

Electrical Engineering
Industrial Design

Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences

Mechanical Engineering Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science and Technology Biomedical Engineering

Psychology & Technology Industrial Engineering & Inn Sciences

Sustainable Innovation Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences



Overview Graduate School TU/e for Academic Awards 2023

Department	Graduate Program	Designer Program
Built Environment	Built Environment	Smart Buildings and Cities
Electrical Engineering	Electrical Engineering	Design of Electrical Engineering Systems
Industrial Design	Industrial Design	
Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences	Industrial Engineering	
	Innovation Sciences	
Chemical Engineering and Chemistry	Chemical Engineering and Chemistry	Process and Product Design
Applied Physics	Applied Physics	Clinical Informatics
Mechanical Engineering	Mechanical Engineering	
Mathematics and Computer Science	Mathematics	
	Computer Science	Software Technology
		Data Science
Biomedical Engineering	Biomedical Engineering	Qualified Medical Engineer
	Science Education and Communication	
	Automotive Systems	Automotive Systems Design



Jury members Academic Awards 2023

Jury members BSc Thesis Award

prof. dr.ir. Y.A.W. de Kort Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences chair

dr.ir. V. Kouznetsova Mechanical Engineering

dr.ir. R. Lavrijsen Applied Physics

Jury members MSc Thesis Award

prof.dr. E.J. Nijssen Industrial Engineering & Innovation Sciences chair

dr.ir. L.F.P. Etman Mechanical Engineering dr. N.A. Kurniawan Biomedical Engineering